Now accepting applications – Mesa Verde 2016 Artist in Residence

Mesa Verde’s 2015 Artist in Residence year was quite a success, with Jerry Fleury – photographer, David Arkenstone – musician wanting to create a symphonic piece to Mesa Verde, Milt Beens – plein air oil painting, Lisa Skyhorse – leather/saddle design, and Marilyn Kroeker – singer/song writer.

After my October 2012 AiR at Mesa Verde, I learned the program was changing management to the Mesa Verde Museum Association, and as a Mesa Verde Volunteer, I became coordinator of the program. Working behind the scenes, I was amazed at the amount of time and energy it took to keep the program afloat. 2015 saw over 500 volunteer hours in jurying the many applications, setting up the historic hogan artists stay in, and working with the artists and the park rangers and staff. Mesa Verde National Park is fortunate to have a valuable volunteer program; other parks are struggling to keep this important program alive.
With 2016 being the centennial for NPS, it proves to be a big year for artists. Our application process is now open: November 1 through December 31. Go to www. nps.gov/meve/getinvolved/artist_in_residence.htm. I wish everyone great creative success.
Jan Wright  (@janwright)
jan@butterflyvisions.com


Questions about the Mesa Verde experience? We have many members who can give you a first person report! Siri Beckman (@siribeckman), Sue King (@sueking), Lisa Grossman  (@lisagrossman), Kristin Gjerdset  (@kgjerdset), Carol Watkins (@carolwatkins), Patricia Rottino Cummins (@patcummins) and myself Kathy Hodge (@kathy-hodge)